LAHDC Leh Elections Held Peacefully;65.07% Turnout with Higher Female Participation

Leh, Oct 22: Polling for the sixth Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Leh, was held across Leh district today.

Addressing a press conference, Election Authority 6th LAHDC, Leh election Sachin Kumar Vaishya said that a total of about 65.07 % of voters have exercised their franchise in the polling that will decide the fate of 94 candidates who are in the fray for the sixth LAHDC, Leh election, 2020. BJP, INC, AAP and 23 Independent candidates are fighting the race to win the seats of 26 councilors of the 6th Hill Council of Leh district.

It is for the first time EVMs are used for LAHDC, Leh election and counting of votes is scheduled on October 26, 2020.  Female polling teams were deployed on 57 polling stations out of the 294 polling stations including 75% female staff on another 38 polling stations.  Skyu-Markha constituency recorded the highest voter turnout with 83.5 % while Lower Leh constituency recorded lowest turnout with 48.63 %.  Informed DC Leh

SSP, Leh Rajiv Panday said that polling was held very peacefully in the district and no untoward incident was reported from any polling stations.

The polling started at eight in the morning and a good number of voters turnout was recorded at all the polling stations in Leh and surrounding villages, especially women and youth presence were higher.

Adhering to the Covid-19 guidelines and considering the rising cases, all standard safety measures like wearing of masks, using sanitizers and following social distancing were sincerely followed at every polling booth. Added DC, Leh

For the first time, Administration extended the postal ballot voting services for senior citizens, person with disability, individual who are under home/institutional quarantine, person tested positive/home isolated, doctors and paramedical staff deployed at dedicated Covid Hospital or Covid Care Centre and a total of 4303 voters exercise their franchise under this service.

For conducting a very  peaceful  and  smooth election  and good voter turnout today, DC, Leh thanked all the staff and  police personnel deployed in the election duty  and govt agencies  including media and  said that now the focus of the district administration is to ensure smooth counting day  on 26th October.

Election Observer 6th LAHDC, Leh election, Ravinder Kumar, Additional District Magistrate Leh, Sonam Chosjor and Election Officer Leh, A.G Zargar were also present during the press conference.

Post a Comment